Archive for May 17th, 2015

h1

The Willis Clan’s New Album “Heaven”

May 17, 2015

1483478_792635450823784_7460199499494476003_oMany of you have probably heard me talk about The Willis Clan before. For those of you who don’t know who they are, here is a brief summery about them.

They are a family band based just outside of Nashville, TN. There are 12 kids in the family but only 7 of the kids are in the band. They have been called the modern day Von Trapp family. They are all very talented. They write all their own music and older kids teach the younger kids the over 80 musical instruments in their house. They are homeschooled as well. The boys have been taught to wrestle and complete as their father was a wrestler in his youth. They are also award winning dancers and have competed across the country. These days they focus more on their music. They are regular guests at the Grand Ole Opry and have competed on The Voice. They currently have their own show “The Willis Family” on TLC. Catch their show on Tuesdays nights at 10 PM (9 PM central).

I discovered them about 3 years ago, when I found their first CD at a local music store. I love Celtic music and the Celtic cross, on the front cover, caught my eye. I decided to give it a try. It was one of the best purchases I have ever made. I fell in love with their music from the moment I first listened to them. I have eagerly purchased each of there CD’s as they have become available. This new one is no exception. Monday, they are set to release their brand new album “Heaven” on iTunes. It’s not too late to pre-order your copy today.

I had the privileged of attending their album release party down town Nashville last Monday (May 11th). It was a lot of fun. TLC was there filming for the TV show so keep a close eye out on the episode that features the release party. You may find me in the crowd. I was the only one that had on a Willis Clan T-shirt. I have only had the opportunity to see them once before. It was last year at a park in Ashland City, TN near where they live (see photo below). If you get an opportunity to see them live, I would highly recommend it. This is not something you want to pass up. They put on a very entertaining show.

I would call The Willis Clan a Celtic band. Their first album “Chapter One: Roots” is considered traditional Irish music. Their second album “Chapter Two: Boots” is mixture between Celtic and Bluegrass music. Funny how close the two intertwine. Their third and latest album “Heaven” is considered Celtic Pop. It is another amazing collection of songs. I have enjoyed all their albums and this one is no exception. They have earned their right to be in my top 5 favorites.

My all time favorite song from The Willis Clan is “Fair Weather Love” written by Jessica Willis who is also the lead singer for the band. This song first appeared on their second album “Chapter Two: Boots”. They cut a newer version for the album “Heaven”. Both versions are amazing. My favorite song from “Heaven” is “Bitter Cold”.

They are currently working on a music video for their new song “City That I’m Looking For” which will hopefully be out soon. Keep an eye out for that.

I have an older stereo in my car and I can not plug in my iPod. So I like to make collection CDs, that I keep in my car, for my favorite musicians and groups. Here is the list of songs that I choose for The Willis Clan CD. It was hard to narrow down the final list as they have so many amazing songs to choose from. I have listed the song title and which album the song can be found on. Consider purchasing their music library and support this amazing band. Go to iTunes to hear the sound clips for these songs.

  1. The Traveling Song from Chapter One: Roots
  2. What Can I Say from Chapter Two: Boots
  3. Chasing Love from Heaven
  4. Lonely Castle William Set from Chapter One: Roots
  5. Slow Me Down from Chapter Two: Boots
  6. Now or Never from Heaven
  7. Jack B from Chapter One: Roots
  8. Fair Weather Love from Chapter Two: Boots
  9. Carried Away from Heaven
  10. The Rambler from Chapter One: Roots
  11. Since I Left Home from Chapter Two: Boots
  12. Ship On The Line from Chapter One: Roots
  13. Come With Me from Heaven
  14. Lottie Lies Among The Flowers from Chapter One: Roots
  15. Sadie from Chapter Two: Boots
  16. Bitter Cold from Heaven
  17. The Wounded Crow from Chapter One: Roots
  18. Heaven from Heaven

IMG_4746