h1

Katharine Hepburn

November 14, 2011

Most of my friends know that Katharine Hepburn is my favorite actress. This last weekend I got to go to Hartford, CT with Women Of Faith. While I was there I got to visit the Cedar Hill Cemetery where Kate is buried. This is my third time to Hartford with WOF but I had forgotten that Kate was born in Hartford and buried there otherwise I would have gone 3 years ago. The day I went to the cemetery it was pouring rain so my friend, Randy and I got soaked but we had a great time. I can now say I have been there incase I never get there again. Kate’s grave stone was nothing special but that’s Kate. She was a no nonsense person. There were a lot of trees down in the cemetery from the bad snow storm that hit Hartford a couple of weeks ago. Below you can see the rock that marks the Hepburn family plot. The plot was purchased in the 20’s when Kate’s oldest brother committed suicide. The rock was Tom’s favorite climbing rock in Fenwick at the Hepburn country home. Fenwick is along the CT coast just outside of Old Saybrook. It is about 45 minutes to an hour from Hartford. The Katharine Hepburn Cultural Arts Center is located in Old Saybrook. I’m hoping one day to get to visit the center where a number of Katharine Hepburn’s awards, and memorabilia is on display.

Leave a Reply

