h1

The Movie “Up In The Air”

May 7, 2010

I have been wanting to see this movie since I became a fan of Vera Farmiga from her role in the movie “The Boy In The Striped Pajamas.” I didn’t care for her character in this film but it is a great movie. Here is the plot of the movie: Up in the Air transforms some painful subjects into smart, sly comedy–with just enough of the pain underneath to give it some weight. Ryan Bingham (George Clooney) spends most of his days traveling around the country and firing people; he’s hired by bosses who don’t have the nerve to do their layoffs themselves. His life of constant flight suits him–he wants no attachments. But two things suddenly threaten his vacuum-sealed world: his company decides to do layoffs via video conference so they don’t have to pay for travel, and Bingham meets a woman named Alex (Vera Farmiga, The Departed), who seems to be the female version of him… and of course, he starts to fall in love.
There are some cussing in the opening of the movie and one scene near the beginning where you see Vera walk to the bed naked and you see her back side but if you can get through the first 15 minutes or so, it really is a good movie with a good message. What I got out of the movie is don’t isolate. It is so easy in this day an age to isolate more and more. It’s easy to hide behind internet relationships. It’s much safer. I don’t know when this mentality really started in us but I have been waking up to it more and more recently. I find that it is not easy for me either, I tend to hide way too much. People tell me all the time that I make friends easy and that I am good with people. That is true on a surface level. I have a hard time getting into deeper relationships and yet that is what I long for. It has even spilled into my relationship with Jesus. Not sure when this started but I don’t want to hold people at arms length and yet I feel helpless to change it. I want this to change in our society and yet it needs to start with me. I can’t change the world but I can change myself. This movie is so timely in our day and age. I would highly recommend it to all. It’s something that I should watch every couple of months to remind myself.
It’s so funny cause I am just getting ready to start reading Lisa Whelchel‘s new book “Friendship For Grown-ups”.

Leave a Reply

